Award honors young female communicators that have made an impact on the industry.

 WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 19, 2015) – Washington Women in Public Relations (WWPR) today announced six finalists that will be honored at this year’s Emerging Leaders Awards. The event honors young women (ages 23-30) in public relations and related fields that have made a significant impact through their work in the industry.

The 2015 WWPR Emerging Leaders Awards finalists include:

•    Sarah Coppersmith, Scott Circle @sarahcopper

•    Cecily Naron, Hager Sharp

•    Jamie Nolan, U.S. Department of Energy @dcjams

•    Emily Rasowsky, Social Driver @ERasowsky

•    Elaine Seward, American Chemical Society @sewelai

•    Shannon ToherThe Yu Crew LLC @shannontoher

“Through WWPR, we seek to develop and inspire women to reach for their full potential in the communications industry. We are pleased to recognize these six extraordinary young women,” said Avelyn Austin, WWPR president. “Their professional successes and personal contributions positively impact our industry and encourage their peers.”

From the six finalists, three Emerging Leaders Awards honorees will be named at the ceremony and cocktail reception on Tuesday, June 16 from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. The event will take place at the Ketchum offices located at 1615 L. Street NW, Washington D.C.

Get your ticket today to meet all of our finalists and hear from our keynote speaker, American Red Cross Vice President of Public Relations Laura Howe!

About Washington Women in Public Relations

Washington Women in Public Relations (WWPR) is a member-based professional society cultivating and inspiring female communicators to reach their full potential in the DC market and beyond. The organization is committed to providing leadership opportunities, professional development, mentorship, and industry networking.

Visit us at and find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.