WWPR History

In 1980, a group of women headed by Mila Albertson, Tacy Telego, Mary Dyess, and Ellen Werther placed an ad in a local trade publication seeking participants to form a network for women working in communications and related fields in the Washington, DC, area. Thirty-five women responded, and they held their first meeting at the old YMCA in downtown, on a hot summer day without air conditioning. Six years later, WWPR became a nonprofit corporation.

WWPR Presidents

Where we are today is a testament to our influential leaders and board members.

  • 1989Ellen Werther
  • 1988Ellen Werther
  • 1987Mary Dyess
  • 1986WWPR adopted bylaws and was incorporated as a nonprofit corporations in the District of Columbia

Emerging Leaders Awards Honorees

  • 2023
  • Elleni Almandrez, Children’s Hospital Association
    Jordun Lawrence, PayPal
    Kelsey N. Nelson, National Foster Youth Institute
    Falen Petros, CURA Strategies
    Jalisa Washington-Price, Subject Matter + Kivvit
  • 2022
  • Casey Dell’Isola, REQ
    Cailin Jason, Hager Sharp
    Ashley Lewis, Edelman
    Charmaine Riley, A/B Partners
  • 2021
  • Stefani Alexander, Curley Company
    Rosemary Girard, Edelman
    Maggie McClain, Food Allergy Research & Education
    Emily Newman, National Association of Realtors®
    Rachel Stephens, U.S. House of Representatives
  • 2019
  • Thy-Ann Nguyen, CURA Strategies
  • Jennifer Heilman, Stratacomm
  • Jackeline Stewart, Edelman
  • Courtney Cochran, Deputy Chief of Staff for Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman
  • Jackie Marks, Marine Stewardship Council
  • Laura Ransone, Interel US- Women in Government Relations
  • 2018
  • Elise CastelliSociety of Interventional Radiology
  • Kristin Chapdelaine, GolinDC
  • Mercy Chikowore, Washington Area Women’s Foundation
  • Shelby Giles, Vanguard Communications
  • Tiph Turpin, Mars, Incorporated
  • Tara Goodin Rabin, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • 2017
  • Jenna Boyer, Marriott International
  • Amanda Byrd, Economic Innovation Grou
  • Antonice Jackson, Founder and CEO, Audacious Publicity and Management Group
  • Tamara Moore, the Reis Group
  • Alex Thompson, Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce
  • Jessica Zetzman, the Case Foundation
  • 2016
  • KC Sledd, Atlantic Media Strategies
  • Sarah Hubbart, Michael Torrey Associates, LLC
  • Melissa Zuckerman, JPA Health Communications
  • 2015
  • Sarah Coppersmith, Scott Circle
  • Emily Rasowsky, Social Driver
  • Shannon Toher, The Yu Crew LLC
  • 2014
  • Alexandra Dickinson, Beekeeper Group, LLC
  • Danielle Hagen, Vice President at Nahigian Strategies
  • Sara Neumann, C.Fox Communications
  • 2013
  • Nell Callahan, SKDKnickerbocker
  • Rachel Glaws, RGI Events & Public Relations
  • Lauren Wesley Wilson, MSL Group
  • 2012
  • Olivia Doherty, The Hatcher Group
  • Laura Hornbuckle, Edelman Public Relations
  • Jennifer Myers, Strategy One
  • 2011
  • Jennifer Mastin Giglio, Ogilvy Washington
  • Judy Lubin, Public Square Communications
  • Tara Silver, Silver Strategy
  • 2010
  • Stefanie Pidgeon, U.S. Army
  • Lauren Musiol, GYMR
  • Carrie Fox, C.Fox Communications

Washington PR Woman of the Year Honorees

  • 2023Alisa Vauldes Whyte
  • 2022Gemma Puglisi
  • 2021Susan Waldman
  • 2020Jennifer Curley
  • 2019Maura Corbett
  • 2018Wendy Hagen
  • 2017Amy DeMaria
  • 2016Martha Boudreau
  • 2015Christina Nicols
  • 2014Laura Monica
  • 2013Pam Jenkins
  • 2012Stephenie Fu
  • 2011Heathere Keenan
  • 2010Debra Silimeo
  • 2009Sarah Temple
  • 2008Marilynn Deane
  • 2007Jennifer Wayman
  • 2006Margery Kraus
  • 2005Carolyn Tieger
  • 2004Susan Hager
  • 2003Lisa Osborne Ross
  • 2002Denise Graveline
  • 2001Elizabeth Shea
  • 2000Mary Yerrick
  • 1999Gloria Dittus
  • 1998Pattie Yu Hussein
  • 1997Susan Morris
  • 1996Beverly Silverberg
  • 1995Joan Cole
  • 1994Katherine Hutt
  • 1993Pat Wheeler
  • 1992Elizabeth Lisboa-Farrow
  • 1991Myra Peabody
  • 1990Marcia Sharp